Oh! The Places You’ll Go! 

  
     Have you read this book? Truly read it? I finally did, after years and years. About a month ago actually. When I was searching for books to read to Bryce one night at his Nanas house I stumbled across this book and grabbed it. As we began to read it, I started to take in the words and realize just how great of a message this book was giving. Dr. Seuss has really outdone himself.

“You won’t lag behind, because you’ll have the speed. 

You’ll pass the whole gang and you’ll soon take the lead.

Wherever you fly, you’ll be best of the best.

Wherever you go, you will top all the rest.

Except when you don’t.

Because, sometimes, you won’t.”

This book is one that gently explains that, yes, you can fly to high heights and succeed. However, sometimes it may not happen. You may fail, you may fall into a slump, but it’s okay! Because even though times get hard things can get better eventually. Because YOU’RE better.

  
     This book is full of wonderful quotes, that I as an adult wish I had known about when I was growing up. But now I have the opportunity to share this with my son Bryce. Every night he is home his dad and I read him this book. He listens to each word intensely and I can only hope that maybe this will sink in so when he gets older he can turn back to these pages and know that everything will be okay. 

    This past Sunday we read this book, once with me and once with dad. After we finished Bryce turned to me and asked, “Is this your favorite book?” I told him it was. He hugged the book tightly as he laid down. “This my favorite book too now, mom.” My heart was so full of love at that moment. 

     Today I am going to go get a few copies of this book at a local book store and I will be starting a 14 year project for him. Now that he has started school I plan to, each year, write to him. And on graduation I will give him this book full of love from his dad, nana, pa, pawpaw, Mimi, etc., and I. That he can keep forever, and open it when he needs to be reminded that he is loved, and that when he is alone, scared, having a hard time finding which path to go down, that we are there. And he’s too good to go down any not-so-good street. 

  

  

Leave a Reply

