A love like no other.

Every girl has that dream of meeting the man of their dreams, love at first sight and the whole fairy tale thing. Well this is how I met mine, it may not have been love at first sight… For me at least! But I didn’t just get one perfect guy, I got two! A bonus mini Brandon that I get to call my stepson!

I met the man of my dreams at the age of 18 in a sports bar back room concert show September 24th 2011. I was with a friend at a Life on Repeat concert sitting down, she leaned over to me and asked me, “Do you know that boy across the room? The one staring at you?” I spotted a boy with tattoos along his right arm, long curly brown hair, and big round eyes staring at me and replied to her “Uhhh….No.” He must have noticed me notice him, because he stood up immediately and came over. He introduced himself, sounding eager and excited, “Hi I’m Brandon. What’s your name? You seem like a pretty cool chick.” I was freaked out, I’m not use to guys being so upfront and a little overwhelming. I told him my name and he asked for my number which I gave to him uncertainly. He walked away and began texting me. I didn’t realize it then, but I had just hopped onto a roller coaster ride relationship with no way off. (But in a good way, as you will see!) We hung out for the first time at the mall, I was still uneasy about him, I didn’t know a single thing about this guy! We walked around, he bought me a belly button ring, an anchor. And at the end of our little adventure I told him I liked his band shirt he had on…he then took the shirt off his back in the parking lot and gave it to me (showing off his very nice looking body an chest piece<3) I knew right then I had to stop talking to this guy, I was not ready for a relationship. We hung out once or twice more and I admit, I was a bitch to him, so he became an asshole to me. We parted ways and dated other people, texting every once and a blue moon. Well, months passed. This is when I found out he had a son, he was still an infant and barely turned one, also I found out he was married once before and now divorced.. At the time I didn’t think much of it. We ended up texting in the beginning of May of 2012 and somehow I ended up hanging out at his place. Something had changed and I think we both realized that there was some sort of connection there, maybe it was our noses, or the fact that we had both been picked on because of our “Bird beak”, or our love for the movie Tremors…Maybe it was just that we actually talked and got to know each other on a deeper note. Whatever it was, a kiss sealed the deal and we both knew it was different. We started dating shortly after on May 28, 2012.

We have been together over a year now, and we currently live together. Brandon has shared custody of his son, we get him every first, third, and last weekend of the month and alternating holidays, Thursdays from 6-8. And the whole month of July! But his son lives and hour and 10minutes away with his mom and her new boyfriend and her newborn. It’s not an easy life as most stepparents and divorced dads/moms know. I’m not complaining about my life, let’s get that straight right now. I love my boyfriend and his son. Yes- I didn’t grow up hoping that one day I would become a stepmom and have to grow up a little quicker then usual.. But I would not change this life for anything. Every fight, every hurtful comment, every day is worth it for this man and his son.

20130923-155153.jpg

Leave a Reply

